Outreachy!

Hello there!

I have been meaning to start a blog since a long time and what better reason to start one than being an Outreachy intern! šŸ™‚
I will be using this blog to share my three months’ experience as a Mozilla intern, contributing to the project “Realtime Push Notification for Kinto”.

Let’s look at it all one by one!

What exactly is Outreachy?

Outreachy (previously OPW) is a wonderful initiative taken by GNOME Foundation that provides the stepping stone for the new comers in the world of Free and Open Source Software (FOSS). The program, organized by Software Freedom Conservancy, offers a three-month paid, remote, and mentored internship to women, trans men, genderqueer people all around the globe, as well as to the US residents who belong to racial minority groups. Outreachy has two rounds annually, and homes various FOSS organizations.
If you like to code, and want to contribute to impacting the lives of people around the globe, Outreachy is the thing for you. Do not hesitate to apply!

My organization, Mozilla!! šŸ˜€

Mozilla is a nonprofit global community that believes “the Web should be open and accessible to all.” Being a part of an organization that believes in the importance of universal web literacy has been an incredible start to my journey in Open Source. Mozilla has some really cool projects that aims at empowering the users by creating open source product. Mozillians are the nicest and the most helpful people you’ll meet, and they are committed to make your experience in FOSS, as a beginner, less scary. šŸ™‚

Kinto!

Kinto is the Mozilla open source product that I would be working on, for the next three months. It is a minimalist JSON storage service where client applications can store, share, retrieve and sync data. It is currently used as a backend for Firefox OS applications and for Firefox and Fennec updates in the Go Faster projects. To know more, check this out!

Kinto has an amazing team of Mozillians and voluntary contributors, and I shall be collaborating with them throughout my internship. I had a meeting with my mentor, Remy Hubscher, in the first week and we decide to build a road-map for the project together. I shall be meeting the rest of the team soon!

My project aims at enabling and implementing realtime push notifications for Kinto. More details on the project in the next blog post. Stay tuned! šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Outreachy!

  1. Ramya Praneetha says:

    Hey Ipsha! Great blog, great posts! I’m also applying for Outreachy and I’ve chosen Mozilla as my organization. I was wondering if you could help me with my proposal? šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

